Tuesday Market: Lorgues, France

At the very top of my list of things to do in France was the markets. There are markets going on just about every single day all over France, and this one in Lorgues is one of the biggest and most popular in the area. They sell food, clothes, shoes, tablecloths- really just about anything you can imagine. And while I did buy some clothes, let’s be honest, I went for the food.

This is one of the first stalls we ran into. Obviously the first thing I bought was a nice hunk of that gingerbread. Mmm, gingerbreeeaaad. And I didn’t think I was a big fan of nougat, but then I realized that I’m just not a big fan of American nougat. This stuff was incredible. It had hazelnuts and honey- so I got some of that too.

The most important pastry for you to try in France -yes, seriously the number one most delicious and important pastry!- is the cannelé. If I ever get a pastry item tattooed on my body it will be one of these. The cannelé is far and away, hands down my favorite pastry item in the entire universe.

When you make them you brush the inside of the mold with beeswax and it gives them this beautiful caramelized, chewy outside and a center that’s soft and wet like bread pudding. Swoon. These happened to be soaked in brandy. More swoon!

I could’ve wandered that market for days. Everything just looked incredible.

That’s a lotta garlic!

Herbs de Provence anyone?

Puffy macaron.

Olives, olives everywhere!

That’s a pricey pigeon.

Lapin = bunnies.

And remember, if you’re going to drive your VW to the market, always park it behind a lamp post where it will be safe.

My plan was to buy some fruit from the market and make a dessert. And I did! I got some beautiful figs.

And next week I’ll tell you what I did with them.

Bon soir!

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Market: Lorgues, France

  1. Pingback: Fig Tart Made in France « The Everchanging Plate

  2. Hello! I’ve been following your site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

