The Glorious Pretzel Bun

Image

Last week I was here. I miss last week.

On my summer vacation I decided to do a little baking. Because what’s a better project when you’re on vacation from your job as a pastry cook than baking? Eh? Eh? Yeah.

I’ve wanted to make pretzel buns for a long time. I’d planned on making a big batch and freezing them, but then I realized I have no time, no ingredients in my apartment and no motivation. Then we went to my parents’ lake house where I had time, lots of ingredients and burger night motivation. What’s better than a burger stuffed with cheddar and topped with a fried egg on a piping hot fresh pretzel bun?

No, really, I’m asking you, because I don’t know.

Image

The nice thing about pretzels is that they don’t have to proof overnight or anything. They’re sort of easy, really. But don’t tell anyone. Just let them be impressed by your incredible baking prowess.

Image

Boil. It’s the secret to the brown, chewy crust that really makes them pretzels. Thirty seconds, please. No need to overdo it. And no need for ¬†lye, people. Baking soda will do just fine, thank you.

Image

Sprinkle. Large sea salt. Then score. Score!

Also, bake.

Image

You’ll want to let them cool a bit if you can wait. It’s hard for me to wait for things. Especially delicious things. Like pretzel rolls.

I’d fully planned on presenting you with a gorgeous photo of my towering burger in all its cheddary, yolky, pretzely glory. But then I ate it.

So you just use your imagination.

Mmm. Imaginaaation.

Kbyenow.

One thought on “The Glorious Pretzel Bun

  1. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it,
    you could be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the future.

    I want to encourage you continue your great work, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

