Fruit Salad With Vanilla Cardamom Dressing

I don’t really like fruit. I don’t know why; the idea of picking up an orange and eating it just doesn’t appeal to me. Don’t get me wrong, I like it in desserts, but by now you should know I’ll eat just about anything in dessert form. That being said, this fruit salad is awesome. I threw it together on Easter because we needed some kind of fruit component and I’ve already made it twice more since then. It’s the only fruit salad I’ll eat.

The best part is, it’s super simple. Just use whatever fruit you like or whatever you’ve got laying around. For this one I used strawberries, grapes, blackberries and plums.

Chop ‘em up and throw it all in a big bowl.

The dressing is also really quick and easy. Everything is really to taste, so just add, taste and adjust till it seems right to you. I like mine a little spicy, so I added a good amount of cardamom.

Throw in a little orange zest, mix it all together and voila!

Magical delicious fruit salad that even I will eat. Though I must be honest, I tend to pick out the strawberries and leave the rest. Maybe I’ll turn this into a tart…

Last night I kicked off my second quarter of pastry school with Cake Decorating. We iced a simple three layer cake. All my classmates commented on how perfect my edges were. I told them it’s because I have a sickness. It’s called anal retentive cake decorating perfectionismitis. Not as glamorous as it sounds.

This Saturday is the long awaited baby shower for my little niece and I’m making petit fours. Didn’t have time to practice them like I wanted to, so who knows what’ll happen. You may want to check back on that one.

Fruit Salad With Vanilla Cardamom Dressing

  • assortment of the fruits of your choice, chopped into bite sized pieces
  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • zest of 1 orange, finely chopped

Combine fruit into large bowl. In smaller bowl combine vanilla yogurt, cardamom and honey and whisk to combine. Pour over fruit, add orange zest and toss to coat. Top with more orange zest if desired.

3 thoughts on “Fruit Salad With Vanilla Cardamom Dressing

  1. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I love to make fruit salads but they tend to get a little boring – this looks like an exciting flavourful dressing. Can’t wait to try it…

  2. Pingback: Fresh Fruit Salads You Can Make in a Jiffy | Yummly

Leave a Reply

