Chocolate Banana Cherry Nut Bread

I’m not gonna lie, I sometimes go overboard on holidays. For some reason I feel like there should be just as many desserts as there are savory dishes. Or at least enough to put up a good fight. Luckily this chocolate banana cherry nut bread can serve as a dessert or a breakfast item- so I got to pretend that I totally meant for it to be a precursor to Easter brunch. Just smile and nod, people, smile and nod.

The nice thing about this bread is that you can decide for yourself if you want it to be dessert or breakfast by adjusting the sugar and extras accordingly. If you’re looking for a slightly more savory bread you can up the walnuts and cherries and reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup. If you’re really feeling saucy you can even replace the 1/4 cup cocoa powder with flour to remove the chocolate component completely. Though I’m not sure who would ever want to remove chocolate from something… if you do that, please don’t tell me about it.

Ah, the “throw it all in a bowl & mix” method. Followed by the “throw it all in a pan & bake” method. So easy it almost feels like cheating.

The chocolate and cherries really play nicely off each other, especially if you have tart cherries. If you’re feeling particularly crazy you could soak the cherries in your favorite liquor. Off the top of my head I think bourbon cherries would be great in this. Should’ve thought of that before. Oh and there is one very important thing to note here: this stuff is good straight out of the oven, but way better the next day. Do with that what you will.

The bread comes out really moist and delicious. Great with a nice cup of tea or topped with ice cream and a drizzle of caramel. It’s up to you really.

I hope everyone had a great Easter. I know I did. I even colored some eggs. Because I just couldn’t resist the box that said “monster egg kit.”

Look, there’s a Lily egg for my niece. Yes, I know she doesn’t even know what her own hands are… but it’s cute. So you just leave me alone.

Mkbye!

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Cherry Nut Bread

  1. Oh wow, that looks so delicious! You can see how moist it is in your great pictures. And with all those additions, it looks like a meal in and of itself. (That’s the excuse I’d use at least!)

    I love your idea of serving it for dessert with ice cream and carmel. I’d love to try that!

  2. i would love to try this (or for you to try this)without the chocolate. sorry but there are those of us who wish you would not chocolate up everything! the bourbon cherries sound good. maybe soaked in egg for french toast, yes that sounds good too. maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

