Salmon in Puff Pastry with Dill Sauce


I’m quirky when it comes to fish. Generally I’m not a fan unless it’s raw. True story. I love all different kinds of sushi -even eel- but when it comes to cooked fish I’ll take a pass. Unless it’s salmon. I’ll eat cooked salmon, smoked salmon, raw salmon. I love it all. And I love it even more when it’s wrapped in puff pastry.

My mom always says you could deep fry her shoe and she’d eat it; that’s the way I feel about puff pastry. So when I was searching for a salmon recipe and I found this one I was very excited. Salmon, leeks, mushrooms and the puffed stuff? Heaven. If you’ve looked at the recipe you’ll notice there’s a pretty glaring omission going on here: white rice. I’m sorry, but that just seemed so weird and out of place to me. White rice in puff pastry? Pardon my French, but Blech! So I threw that straight out the window and stuck with what I liked. This is a really easy dish to make even if it seems complex. It’s mostly assembly.

And fyi, the serving sizes are pretty large. I made asparagus and roasted parmesan rosemary fingerling potatoes as sides, but I think we probably could have done without the asparagus. The creamy dill sauce that goes with it is really the perfect accompaniment for this, though I used fat free sour cream instead of whipping cream and creme fraiche. Next time I’ll bite the bullet and make the real thing. It was good, but it could have been richer. Oh well. All the flavors are perfect together, and it looks rather impressive too.

So if you’re looking for something easy that will make everyone think you’re a big fancy pants, definitely try this. It would probably work with any other kind of fish and maybe chicken too. And if anyone has any insight as to why the crap you’d ruin this with white rice, please share.

Hope everyone is having a great week. I’m going to spend the rest of mine trying not to eat all the chocolate croissants I made in class last night. Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Salmon in Puff Pastry with Dill Sauce

  1. Pingback: Salmon in Puff Pastry with Dill Sauce – The Everchanging Plate | Happy Happy Joy Joy

Leave a Reply

